Home Linux Openfire chat server Router Server Tech Windows News
in Exchange Server - 18 Oct, 2016
by TechiJack - no comments

Architectural Change In Exchange Server From 2010 to 2013 to 2016

Exchange 2007 & 2010 has 5 different roles. All four roles are internal roles, only edge server role is external role. Which means it is not a member server in a domain.

Mailbox Role
Client Access Role
Hub Transport Role
Unified Messaging Role
Edge Server Role

Moving further from exchange 2010 to 2013 we only have three roles.

1. Mailbox Role
2. Client Access Role
3. Edge Server Role

Hub Transport and unified messaging role is moved down to mailbox server role. (Back-end Server Role)
Client Access Role: Moved into proxy and redirection server (front-end Server Role)

Exchange 2016 gone one step further by merging mailbox and client access into a simple server deployment of mailbox, for internal roles and edge as a perimeter exchange role.

1. Mailbox Role
2. Edge Server Role.

In mailbox role we have all the other previous role which we had in older version. Load balancing is unaffected by the new changes.

Note: Exchange 2016 can co-exist with 2010 (SP3 with update rollup 9) or 2013 (CU8 or later)

Domain controllers (must be 2008 or higher) (forest functionality of 2008 or higher)

Hardware: x64 required, member server running 2012/2012 R2 (currently), 8GB minimum for mailbox and 4GB for edge server.

You cannot deploy exchange server 2016 in 2007 environment or earlier.

Leave a Reply